Our church began with a meeting in a cabin in Springfield in 1821. For 200 years, we have met and worshiped in various locations but always had the goal of making disciples of Jesus Christ and transforming the world around us.
Services were moved to a log schoolhouse, and then to a frame church built at 5th and Monroe in 1854. In 1885, a new stone church was built at a new site at 5th and Capitol. Revivals near the turn of the century brought hundreds of new members, and the church continued to grow through the mid-20th century. A new church building opened at the same site in 1979.
In 1992, as church leaders saw that the west side of Springfield was expanding, 66 acres were purchased at Wabash and Koke Mill Road, and the Community Life Center (then the Family Life Center) was opened at its current location in 1995. The Sanctuary was added in 2006, with all services moving to the new location in 2008.
We are grateful for our rich heritage, for those who came before us to make this ministry possible. Our mission stands to help us grow to be more Christ-centered and to spread the love of Jesus throughout the world.
We celebrated our 200th Anniversary on May 22-23, 2021, and we looked back at our history and forward to where God is leading us. Come with us as we make history in the next 200 years!